Building Commission

Purpose and Membership

The Diocesan Building Commission is a body of professional members who serve to advise and oversee construction and major renovations of new and existing properties owned by the Roman Catholic Diocese of Lexington.  Meetings are held on the second Friday of each month.

Agenda submissions can be requested up to one week prior to the scheduled meeting by contacting Debbie Swisher, DFO, via email at or phone (859) 253-1993 ext.1043.

Membership consists of:

Architectural Planning and Review

  • Kevin Murphy
  • Tom Cruze
  • John Wagner

Financial Feasibility Committee

  • Debbie Swisher, Co-Chair

Liturgical Planning and Review

  • Karen Rood

Contract and Legal

  • Deacon John Hinkel

Building Construction, Maintenance, and Repair

  • Larry Cowgill
  • John Wagner, C0-Chair
  • Karen Howard – Plant and Property
  • Diane Zekind

Independent Architect – Consultant

  • Tom Cruze